What is AATRN?

The Applied Algebraic Topology Research Network (AATRN) is a network of researchers and data scientists interested in applied algebraic topology. 

AATRN hosts regular talks and interviews, produces educational content, helps facilitate online conferences, helps post recordings from in-person conferences online, and brings together an international group of academics and engineers to collaborate on research and professional topics. We are a diverse community aimed at highlighting the work of both established and young researchers, in academia or in industry, internationally and with a spirit of inclusivity. 

The article How do I ... develop an online research seminar? from the September 2020 Notices of the American Mathematical Society gives a brief history of AATRN, which began near the end of the 2013-2014 thematic year on Science and Engineering Applications of Algebraic Topology, hosted by the Institute for Mathematics and its Applications.



Henry Adams, University of Florida, 2016-present, Executive Director

Hana Dal Poz Kouřimská, IST Austria, 2021-present

Teresa Heiss, IST Austria, 2021-present

Sara Kališnik, ETH Zurich, 2018-present

Bastian Rieck, Institute of AI for Health at Helmholtz Munich, 2022-present

Speaker Selection Committee

Emerson Escolar, Kobe University, 2023-present

Barbara Giunti, University of Albany, 2023-present

Kristóf Huszár, TU Graz, 2024-present

Érika Roldán, Max Planck Institute, 2024-present

Advisory Committee:

Peter Bubenik, University of Florida, 2020-present

Robert Ghrist, University of Pennsylvania, 2014-present

Kathryn Hess, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, 2021-present

Konstantin Mischaikow, Rutgers University, 2014-present

Yusu Wang, University of California, San Diego, 2021-present

Prior Leadership

Former Directors:

Peter Bubenik, University of Florida, 2014-2017, Founding Director

Elchanan Solomon, Duke University, 2020-2022

Former members of Speaker Selection Committee

Facundo Mémoli, Ohio State University, 2023-2024

Lori Ziegelmeier, Macalester College, 2023-2024

Former members of Advisory Committee:

Fadil Santosa, Institute for Mathematics and its Applications, 2014-2020